The Boyfriend Book
Release Date  
Pages   256
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-846-7
Categories  

The Boyfriend Book

By Michael E. Reid, Michael Reid

An Empowering Book of Poems and Essays

Fans of Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty, Whiskey Words and a Shovel by r.h. Sin, and The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace will love The Boyfriend Book by Michael E. Reid.

No more boyfriends: 300 women sat down with Mike, and after three hours, 299 of them agreed that they never wanted a boyfriend again. The Boyfriend Book tells you why.

Modern love poems and philosophy: When entrusting her heart to somebody, a woman doesn’t want to worry about the bad and the ugly, such as disloyalty and disrespect, indifference and contempt, micro-aggression and outright violence. In a perfect world, every guy would be a “good guy,” and every guy would have her best interest at heart. Unfortunately, the real world is a dangerous place, particularly when women have to let strangers in. And while some women are decent judges of character, others don’t see the train coming until it hits them. Not only does this book serve as a cautionary tale, it also offers an important perspective on modern love and equips women with strategies to effectively change their love life and, most importantly, their inner lives.

Transform your life with this powerful poetry book: Before you open this book, ask yourself: Where am I now? What are my struggles? What sort of pain do I carry? What parts of myself have I lost? Then, figure out where you want to be. This book will get you there. The possibilities for rebirth and reinvention are endless – but it’s ultimately up to you to make it all happen. This book will help you find a way to go forward that does not involve sideways. Read it slow. Plant the seed. Let it grow.

The Boyfriend Book is a gripping collection of short stories, thoughts and poems from Just Mike The Poet.

Exclusive Holiday Sale!

Select format

$16.99 $13.59

You May Also Like

Dear Woman

By

Celebrating and Empowering Black Lives and Black Authors

Inspiration Led By Poetry

Stop cutting yourself short: You must wear your crown at all times. If you were waiting on someone to give it to you, Dear Woman is here to inform you that you can give it to yourself. Every woman is a queen, especially you. Put your crown on and get ready to rule.

Take a journey: No one has just one page in their life story. That’s why Dear Woman has everything—quotes, letters, short stories, and poems to educate, motivate, encourage, and provide a little tough love. This open letter is just as multi-faceted and inspirational as you are.

Want the best for yourself: Michael E. Read wrote this book because he wants nothing more than for you to be the best woman possible, regardless of circumstance. In Dear Woman, he encourages you to feel the same way. This is more than a self-help book, more than just relationship advice for women—though it does include both of those things. No, this inspirational open letter, full of poetry and wisdom, is life advice just for you.

Do it for you: You are an amazing woman. Deep down, you know that. Dear Woman isn’t here to tell you that you need to improve. Rather, it’s here to tell you that you can be your true self—for yourself. This is the life advice you need, because you deserve to thrive for no other reason than the fact that you are a woman.

Dear Woman was written in hopes of shedding a little light and love. Let it add some brightness to your life. After reading this book, you will:

  • Love yourself whole-heartedly
  • Know that you deserve the best
  • Be confident regardless of what life throws at you
Read more
$27.99 $22.39 ADD TO CART

So This Is the End

By

#1 New Release in Science Fiction & Fantasy — What Happens When You Find Your Soulmate, but You Only Have One Day to Live?

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You and Jill Santopolo’s The Light We Lost, comes a powerful romance

What if doctors could revive you from death—and give you an extra 24 hours of life?

One more day. One more chance to tell your family how much you love them. One more chance to say goodbye to friends, listen to your favorite song, throw an epic party, feel the grass beneath your feet, or watch the sunset. How would you spend your time?

So This Is The End follows Nora Hamilton as she navigates her final 24 hours. She’s determined to do something meaningful and make every moment count.

Enter: Renzo. Ren, for short. Strong, compassionate, unfairly attractive, with a face that makes Nora’s stomach explode into stars. Their connection is immediate, with white-hot intensity. Nora is wracked with bittersweet joy and confusion as she realizes, “I’ve finally met the love of my life… on the last day of my life.”

Should she tell Ren the truth about her condition—tell him she doesn’t have much time left? How will he react? Is it unethical to allow yourself to fall in love with someone when there’s no possibility of a future together? Or is love a precious gift, no matter how long it lasts, even if it’s just for one day?

What happens next is a story about taking chances, making your own rules, and the power of living like there’s no tomorrow.

A moving romantic drama: Early readers call So This Is The End "a breath of fresh air," "moving and beautiful," "an amazing wake-up call," a book you'll be "unable to put down," with a story that makes you "fall in love the instant you start reading."

Read more

The Deep Enders

By

Teen and Young Adult Novel Based on Actual World War II Events

#1 New Release in Teen & Young Adult Boys & Men Fiction, Teen & Young Adult Military Historical Fiction, Action & Adventure, and Australia

“An action-packed adventure filled with wonderful characters, life, and color. The Deep Enders is a wild ride for readers!” ––Leah James, film producer

In the throes of the Pacific War, a troubled young man, Murph Turner, seeks solace in the Western Australia pearling town of Broome after his home was destroyed, but instead he finds true friendship, romance, adventure, and wartime treachery.

A teen and young adult novel filled with adventure, danger, and more! His home destroyed in The Pacific War, a troubled young man, Murph Turner, stumbles into the exotic pearling town of Broome hoping for safe harbor. Instead, he discovers a lawless place brimming with espionage, treachery, and murder. An outsider in a bewildering land of red dust and paranoia, Murph is quickly taken under wing by Banjo––a cheeky Aboriginal scamp with a passion for pyrotechnics––and Micki, a beautiful teenager on the run from authorities. But even as the Japanese armada closes in on the northern coastline, the trio is suddenly thrust into a murderous adventure––all set against the backdrop of a true wartime tragedy. Follow Murph as he navigates a war-torn world, and comes of age through, friendship, romance, and resilience. 

Enter the turmoil of war-torn Australia during WWII. The Deep Enders is based on actual events linked to Pearl Harbor, so shocking that the matter was immediately covered up by Allied governments and has remained largely unknown for 75 years.

If you liked Dark Fury by Evan Graver, The Coordinate by Marc Jacobs, or Seeking Safety by T.L Payne, your next read should be The Deep Enders by Dave Reardon.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART

Uncomfortable Minds

By

“Uncomfortable minds” is Larry’s Sorkin’s riff on poet e.e. cummings ‘ words, “Cambridge ladies who...are unbeautiful and have comfortable mind” which refer to the conceit that uncomfortable minds are universal to all human beings. Larry Sorkin’s collection of poems—sometimes joyful, sometimes elegiac—explore the idea of the restless, uncomfortable state as either something we can run from, try to fix, or embrace. Each poem in the collection explores some disturbance in the psyche, with poetry as a way to confront the disturbance, use it, embrace it.

Read more
$9.99 $7.99 ADD TO CART

Across the Deep

By

A Survivor Story Featuring Strong Female Characters, an Undercover Cop, and the Hills of San Francisco

“After you read… ‘human trafficking’ will never be a concept for you again—but instead a personal affront to your very soul.” —Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Winner 2020 Indie Book Award for Most Inspirational Fiction

With the perfect mix of tragedy and humor, love and loss, pain and redemption, this riveting novel explores the lives of two spectacularly brave and resilient trafficked women living in a San Francisco safe house.

A contemporary survivor story. Raised in Thailand and brought to the United States against her will, quiet and intelligent Suda is hiding from a sex trafficking ring and the man she believed was on her side. Claire, admired as bright and beautiful in high school, now hides her striking looks and wears her sharp wit as a protective shield. Determined to show Suda and Claire a path that allows for a life of their own, Simone, the safe house operator, offers them a haven and a healing path to the future.

Part suspense, romance, and social novel. Moving between the hills of Thailand and San Francisco, this incredible novel traces the journey of two trafficked women pursuing healing and hope. With strong female  characters, an undercover cop, and a warmhearted Christian, Across the Deep is an unforgettable, alluring, suspenseful story  about the resilience of the human spirit, of lives stolen and enduring hope for the future.

If you enjoyed novels like Girl in Pieces, The Sea of Lost Girls, Please See Us, and Then She Was Gone, then you’ll love Across the Deep.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART

America's First Female Serial Killer

By

The Making of a Female Serial Killer

"In America's First Female Serial Killer, McBrayer offers us a complex―and terrifying―portrait of a killer who seemed almost doomed from birth." ―Kate Winkler Dawson, author of American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI

#1 Best Seller in History of Ireland, Child Psychology, and Crime & Criminals

For readers who are fascinated by how serial killers are made. This book is for listeners of true crime podcasts and readers of both fiction and true crime nonfiction. It is for watchers of television shows like Deadly Women and Mindhunter, who are fascinated by how killers are made. It’s for self-conscious feminists, Americans trying to bootstrap themselves into success, and anyone who loves a vigilante beatdown, especially one gone off the rails.

America’s first female serial killer was not always a killer. America’s First Female Serial Killer novelizes the true story of first-generation Irish-American nurse Jane Toppan, born as Honora Kelley. Although all the facts are intact, books about her life and her crimes are all facts and no story. Jane Toppan was absolutely a monster, but she did not start out that way.

Making of a serial killer. When Jane was a young child, her father abandoned her and her sister to the Boston Female Asylum. From there, Jane was indentured to a wealthy family who changed her name, never adopted her, wrote her out of the will, and essentially taught her how to hate herself. Jilted at the altar, Jane became a nurse and took control of her life, and the lives of her victims.

Readers of America’s First Female Serial Killer:

  • Will gain insight into the personal development of a severely damaged person without rationalizing her crimes
  • Experience the rarely told story of a female serial killer
  • Understand that even monsters were humans, first

If you enjoyed books such as In We Keep the Dead CloseMindhunter, or In Cold Blood; you will love reading America’s First Female Serial Killer.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART