Radical Generosity
Release Date  
Pages   192
ISBN-13  978-1-57324-740-5
Categories  

Radical Generosity

Unlock the Transformative Power of Giving (For Fans of More or Less or Make Time)

By M.J. Ryan

Generosity Stories to Touch Your Heart and Lift Your Spirits

Gratitude and generosity go hand in hand. The more we appreciate our lives, the more we want to give to others. In Radical Generosity, best-selling author M. J. Ryan provides tools for expressing thanks. In a series of short, heart-felt essays, Ryan encourages us all to stop living from what she calls "the ledger sheet mentality" of obligatory gifting and to begin giving from the overflow of a loving heart.

Generosity is the great act of kindness that sustains the world. In her best-selling Attitudes of Gratitude, M. J. Ryan taught us the inner work of realizing the many blessings we take for granted. Now, in Radical Generosity, she presents an examination of the virtues we need to cultivate for the twenty-first century and takes a look at generosity: what creates it, what blocks it, and what the practice of generosity can bring to our lives. In her down-to-earth, accessible style, Ryan takes us to the heart of what it means to truly give, and what that giving can do not only for the recipient but for ourselves as well.

Generosity is a habit of mind and the gift of freedom. M. J. Ryan asks her readers to consider where and how they are stingy as well as where they are meant to give. And, she asks that we contemplate all the types of possible generosity, because ultimately the giving of time, energy, kind words, loving gestures, and forgiveness may matter more than any amount of money. Radical Generosity shows us how to experience joy, peace, and fulfillment when we live from a place of generosity and when we also learn how to receive.

If you have read and learned from books such as How Happiness HappensThe Complicated HeartLove Lives HereThe Laws of Human NatureThirstMake Time, or Enough; we believe you will love and learn from M. J. Ryan’s Radical Generosity.

Select format

$16.95

You May Also Like

Attitudes of Gratitude

By

#1 Best Seller in Marriage & Family ─ Practice Gratitude Daily

Discover amazing gratitude benefits. Gratitude is a simple, profound practice that can change your life. Research has confirmed its many emotional and physical benefits. Taking the time to notice and reflect upon good things opens our hearts, creates happiness, and restores us to a natural place where we notice what's right instead of wrong.

Find happiness and joy with positive thinking. When you find ways to be grateful every day, you experience more joy in life. Author and personal success mentor M. J. Ryan writes, "Gratitude births only positive feelings—love, compassion, joy, and hope. As we focus on what we are thankful for, fear, anger, and bitterness simply melt away, seemingly without effort." Her book Attitudes of Gratitude will teach you how to reach this positive place.

Motivational gratitude essays. In a series of brief, evocative essays, Ryan teaches us how to unlock the fullness of life through the simple joy of living from a grateful heart. In this gratitude book, you will find:

  • Essays on a variety of topics that are perfect for gratitude meditation
  • Encouragement to begin practicing, commit to, and celebrate gratitude
  • A variety of ways to practice gratitude in your own life

Readers of inspirational books and personal growth books like The Book of JoyThe Gratitude Diaries, and The Happiness Project will love Attitudes of Gratitude.

Read more

How to Survive Change . . . You Didn't Ask for

By

Be Empowered in the Face of Change

Change your mindset to change for the better. These are challenging times. Chances are, at this moment, you’re confronting some change you never asked for—perhaps a life crisis, like a loss of job or the failure of a dream. Maybe you have to learn to work in new ways or find a new place to live. Bestselling author, thought leader, and change expert M.J. Ryan is here to help. Within the pages of her book How to Survive Change . . . You Didn't Ask For, you’ll find the support and practices you need to successfully ride the wave of this change, whatever it may be.

Discover tools for coping with the changes of life. Change is always hard, and it's even harder when it's thrust upon us, unbidden. But with every change, there is also opportunity. In this book, Ryan provides strategies to retain your brain and optimize your response to life change, step by step. Best of all, as your adaptability increases, so does your confidence—with her guidance, you will be able to survive and thrive no matter what life throws your way.

Turn life transitions into opportunities for success. With both detailed chapters explaining how to embrace change and twenty quick tips for adapting to change you didn't ask for, Ryan's advice can be used in any evolving situation. This book will teach you how to:

  • Accept change
  • Expand your options
  • Take action, and
  • Strengthen your adaptability

If you liked Switch or books by Gretchen Rubin like Better than Before and The Four Tendencies, you'll love How to Survive Change . . . You Didn't Ask For.

Read more

Windy City

By

Celebrate Chicago and Exquisite Journaling

Nobody seems to know exactly why people started calling Chicago “The Windy City”. Maybe it was because of Chicago’s windy weather coming off of Lake Michigan or maybe it was a metaphorical jab at its supposedly boastful politicians. Whatever the origin the moniker stuck and now it’s a beautiful journal notebook.

A Windy City work of art. Whether you’re a lover of the "Windy City" or just can’t resist beautifully illustrated journals, you will enjoy having this vibrantly illustrated blank journal with Demask cover at your fingertips. Perfect for your purse, backpack, work bag, pocket, or desktop, this Anne Bentley designed work of art makes a great birthday gift, graduation gift, spontaneous gift−or gift to yourself.

Journaling in style. Well-constructed with lay flat binding, and high-quality cream lined paper, this delightfully illustrated journal is ideal for jotting thoughts, to-do lists, notes, or just personal musings.

If you are a fan of illustrated blank journals such as Lively Floral Stitched Lined Notebooks, the Botanicals Notebook Collection, or other Anne Bentley illustrated journals including Journal: Music TownJournal: Fog City, or Journal: The Big Easy; you will love Windy City: Journal Notebook.

Read more

Stumptown

By

Celebrate Portland, Oregon, and Exquisite Journaling

At least seven other U.S. municipalities have claimed the title “Stumptown”, but the name seems to have stuck with Portland, Oregon. As the Pacific Northwestern forest was rapidly cleared to make way for the city’s growth in the mid-19th century, tree stumps were pretty much left in place. In fact, there were so many, it is told that people took to jumping from one stump to another to avoid muddy unpaved roads. And, now Stumptown is also a beautiful journal notebook.

A Stumptown work of art. Whether you’re a lover of Stumptown or just can’t resist beautifully illustrated journals, you will enjoy having this vibrantly illustrated blank journal with Demask cover at your fingertips. Perfect for your purse, backpack, work bag, pocket, or desktop, this Anne Bentley designed work of art makes a great birthday gift, graduation gift, spontaneous gift−or gift to yourself.

Journaling in style. Well-constructed with lay flat binding, and high-quality cream lined paper, this delightfully illustrated journal is ideal for jotting thoughts, to-do lists, notes, or just personal musings.

If you are a fan of illustrated blank journals such as Lively Floral Stitched Lined Notebooks, the Botanicals Notebook Collection, or other Anne Bentley journals including Journal: Music TownJournal: Fog CityJournal: The Big Easy or Windy City: Journal Notebook; you will love Stumptown: Journal Notebook.

Read more

The Tao of Influence

By

#1 New Release in Eastern Philosophy, Taoism ─ How to Become a Great Leader

People are yearning to make an impact and create much needed change. Building a business, starting a movement, generating a new initiative in the workplace, creating change within a family, or supporting a non-profit enterprise in the community? People want to be part of the solution. Author Karen McGregor believes the 4000-year-old “Four Pillars of Influence” of the Tao Te Ching may be the key.

A unique leadership skills book. The Tao of Influence stands apart as a business book. It speaks ancient wisdom to the modern-day leader, while providing practical and tangible actions that lead to high levels of sustainable influence and positive power. Discover an easy-to-follow roadmap to creating lasting change in your workplace, community, and family, while navigating chaotic and demanding environments.

The power of influence to create much needed change. As “old world” manipulation, hidden agendas, control and greed crumble, people are seeking replacements. The Tao of Influence fills the gap between old and new world influence through the teachings and applications of the 4000-year-old wisdom of Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu.

Positive vibes and how to influence others. Author Karen McGregor is an international keynote and TEDx speaker, and a guide to thousands of entrepreneurs and professionals seeking to become more influential leaders. In this book each chapter begins with a quote from the Tao Te Ching that connects with that chapter’s theme, then concludes with reflections and recommended actions. Learn to:

  • Handle challenges and difficult people
  • End the dynamic that heightens power struggles and destroys influence
  • Create stillness and space to generate authentic power

If you have read books such as WeconomyLeaders Eat Last, or Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth, you will want to read and learn from Karen McGregor’s The Tao of Influence.

Read more

Cleanse Your Body, Reveal Your Soul

By

Discover A Life-Changing Detoxification and Rejuvenation Therapy

Psychiatrist Judith E. Pentz, MD, travels to Nagpur, India, to study 5000-year-old Ayurvedic Panchakarma detoxification and rejuvenation therapy in a quest to provide enhanced holistic wellness treatment for her patients.

A change at the cellular level. Part travel memoir and part spiritual guide, Cleanse Your Body and Reveal Your Soul is one woman’s transformative quest with Ayurvedic Panchakarma (a fivefold detoxification treatment involving massage, herbal therapy, and other procedures) and the profound shifts that led to some sustainable, substantial life changes. Dissatisfied with a mainstream psychiatric practice, Dr. Pentz heads to India, where she undergoes an ancient, rejuvenating cleanse.

The tools and practices of Panchakarma. Dr. Pentz’s narrative offers a compassionate and compelling path for Western audiences and the Ayurveda-curious. Complete with healing oils, Ayurvedic daily rituals, and yoga poses, she supplements her journey with tips about preventive lifestyle changes that promote sustainable well-being.

Inside, find definitions, quizzes and wisdom, as well as chapters like:

  • Cellular Shift: the science behind Panchakarma and cellular change
  • Food As Medicine: tips about one of the central tenets of Ayurveda, food is healing, and maintaining an Ayurvedic diet
  • The Dish on Doshas: facts that illuminate concepts around the three doshas—vata, pitta, kapha—your constitutional and functional intelligence

    If you have benefited from books like Ayurveda Beginner's GuideThe Ayurvedic Self-Care HandbookBody Thrive, or Ayurveda and Panchakarma, then Cleanse Your Body and Reveal Your Soul should be your next read.

Read more