Women Who Launch
Release Date  
Pages   244
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-695-1
Categories  

Women Who Launch

The Women Who Shattered Glass Ceilings (Strong Women, Women Empowerment, for Fans of Fabulous Female Firsts or The Book of Awesome Women)

By Marlene Wagman-Geller

Finalist Pacific Book Awards 2018! ─ Empowering stories of game-changing women

Dorothy Parker observed, “It’s a man’s world;” the lady entrepreneurs and game-changers profiled in Women Who Launch would beg to differ. Unlike the matrons of the 1950s-the women who lunched-these kick-ass females left their DNA in the annals of time.

A history of women in business and beyond: Julia Ward-Howe showed what’s good for the goose is good for the gander when she created the Girl Scouts of America. Sara Joseph Hale-authoress of Mary had a Little Lamb- convinced Lincoln to launch a national day of thanks while Anna Jarvis persuaded President Wilson to initiate a day in tribute of mothers. Estee Lauder revolutionized the cosmetics industry. The tradition of these Mothers of Invention continued when, compliments of knitter Krista Suh, the heads of millions were adorned with pink, pussy-cat ears in the largest women's march in history. These women who launched prove-in the words of Rosie the Riveter, “We can do it!”

Biographies of women creators, innovators, and leaders: Women Who Launch is filled with inspiring true stories of women activists, artists, entrepreneurs who launched some of the most famous companies, brands, and organizations today and changed the world. It is at once a collection of biographies and a testament of female empowerment.

Readers will find:

  • The stories behind renowned companies, brands, and organizations and the diverse women who launched them.
  • empowering quotes from strong women and those who refused to be kept down.
  • motivation to all women who want to succeed in their careers, launch companies, and change the world.

Find motivation in your career and life with the amazing history of women entrepreneurship, activism, and leadership.

Select format

$16.95

Updates and Events

You May Also Like

Fabulous Female Firsts

By

The audience for this book will will include:

  • Women ages 12 to 102: The volume would be an apropos gift for fodder in the modern day water coolers: emails, texts, and Twitter
  • Popular History Readers of both genders.
  • Viewers of The Biography Channel.  Each chapter offers a biography of a riveting personality whose name, if not story, lives on.
  • Trivia Lovers: The stories behind the names would be welcome fodder
  • Gift for teenage girls

Selling points for this book will include:

  • Good non-fiction choice for book clubs.
  • Subject lends itself to good social media promotions.
  • As the chapters are concise, and independent from one another, it is a good volume for coffee shops, hair salons, and waiting-rooms.
Read more

Women of Means

By

#1 Best Seller in Women's Studies and Biographies of the Rich & Famous and Royalty ─ Glimpse Behind the Façade of Rich and Famous Women

If you liked The Last Castle and Lean In, you’ll love Women of Means.

The Grass Isn't Greener on the Other Side: Heiresses have always been viewed with eyes of envy. They were the ones for whom the cornucopia had been upended, showering them with unimaginable wealth and opportunity. However, through intimate historical biographies, Women of Means shows us that oftentimes the weaving sisters saved their most heart-wrenching tapestries for the destinies of wealthy women.

Happily Never After: From the author of Behind Every Great Man, we now have Women of Means, vignettes of the women who were slated from birth—or marriage—to great privilege, only to endure lives which were the stuff Russian tragic heroines are made of. They are the nonfictional Richard Corys—those not slated for happily ever after.

Women of Means is bound to be a non-fiction best seller, full of the best biographies of all time. Some of the women whose silver spoons rusted include:

  • Almira Carnarvon, the real-life counterpart to Lady Cora of Downton Abbey
  • Liliane Bettencourt, whose chemist father created L’Oreal... and was a Nazi collaborator
  • Peggy Guggenheim, who had an insatiable appetite for modern art and men
  • Nica Rothschild, who traded her gilded life to become the Baroness of Bebop
  • Jocelyn Wildenstein, who became a cosmetology-enhanced cat-woman
  • Ruth Madoff, the dethroned queen of Manhattan
  • Patty Hearst, who trod the path from heiress... to terrorist
Read more

Great Second Acts

By

#1 New Release in Biographies & Memoirs and Educators ─ Empowering biographies of older women in history

A feminist and motivational collection of stories: Antony said of Cleopatra, “Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale/Her infinite variety.” Shakespeare’s sentiment can be applied to the women profiled in Great Second Acts who refused to be defined by the dates on their birth certificates. Their lives are testimony that one can be feisty after fifty and to those who think otherwise, in the words of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, “I dissent.”

Biographies of leadership and female empowerment: Marlene Wagman-Geller, author of Once Again to Zelda and Behind Every Great Man, presents a fascinating collection of biographical vignettes of dozens of women of a certain age who have excelled, inspired and achieved. Learn how these women changed their respective fields of art, politics, science, mathematics, media, literature, activism, education, and more.

Motivational achievements: From actresses, yoga teachers, folk artists to business women, prime ministers, monarchs and authors, these group of exceptional women will illustrate that women can achieve anything no matter their age. Be motivated by their grit, perseverance, and passion. Readers will find:

  • Biographies of influential women such as Prime Minister Margert Thatcher, chef Julia Child, Mother Teressa, feminist Gloria Steinem, actress Rita Moreno, inventor Ruth Handler, Judge Judy Sheindlin, and many more
  • Empowering quotes from strong women who refused to be kept down
  • Motivational, inspirational and educational stories of older women

Written in an accessible narrative style, readers of all ages will enjoy Wagman-Geller’s entertaining storytelling prose of these remarkable women. An excellent gift for students, mothers, sisters or friends, Great Second Acts will endure and delight.

Learn the history of older women who changed the world.

Read more

Still I Rise

By

#1 New Release on Amazon! — Who are the great women leaders in history? Who are the women heroes who personify "girl power"?

Intrepid women heroes: When Nelson Mandela was imprisoned in South Africa’s brutal Robben Prison, he tirelessly turned to the poem Invictus. The inspirational verse by the Victorian William Ernest Henley, penned on the occasion of the amputation of his leg. Still I Rise takes its title from a work by Maya Angelou and it resonates with the same spirit of an unconquerable soul, a woman who is captain of her fate. Just as Invictus brought solace to generations so does the contemporary classic. Still I Rise embodies the strength of character of the inspiring women profiled. Each chapter will outline the fall and rise of great women heroes who smashed all obstacles, rather than let all obstacles smash them. The book offers hope to those undergoing their own Sisyphean struggles. Intrepid women heroes are the antithesis of the traditional damsels in distress; rather than waiting for the prince, they took salvation into their own hands.

Celebrate girl power! Women leaders in history celebrated in this book include:

  • Madame C. J. Walker - first female American millionaire
  • Aung San Suu Kyi - Burma’s first lady of freedom
  • Betty Shabazz - civil rights activist
  • Nellie Sachs - Holocaust survivor and Nobel Prize recipient
  • Selma Lagerlof - first woman Nobel Laureate
  • Fannie Lou Hamer - American voting rights activist
  • Bessie Coleman - first African-American female pilot
  • Wilma Rudolph - first woman to win three gold medals
  • Sonia Sotomayor - first Hispanic Supreme Court justice
  • Wangari Maathai - Nobel Prize winner
  • Winnifred Mandela - freedom fighter
  • Lois Wilson - founder of Al-Anon
  • Roxanne Quimby - co-founder of Burt’s Bees
Read more

Your Leadership Moment

By

Influence Your Organization and Lead Change

Anyone can be a leader. You don't have to be a CEO or work in a management position to have influence. Your Leadership Moment provides practical tools, techniques and inspiration to discover your leadership potential. It combines personal and real-world anecdotes with a framework for leadership that can help anyone learn to lead.

Anyone can be an influencer. Author and leadership expert Eric Martin has brought leadership development to the lives of hundreds of thousands of people in 146 countries. Eric’s work draws on Adaptive Leadership, an unconventional and somewhat provocative leadership practice developed at Harvard by Drs. Ron Heifetz and Marty Linsky and by Alexander Grashow, with whom he has mentored and worked. Your Leadership Moment teaches Martin's expansion on Adaptive Leadership in a way everyone can understand.

Anyone can change the world. Your Leadership Moment is for real people who seek to create consequential, meaningful change despite having little to no authority or power. In this book, you will discover:

  • What a Leadership Moment is and the key concepts of Adaptive Leadership
  • How to stop solving the wrong problems perfectly and start solving the right problems creatively
  • How to think politically and mobilize others to help you make real, positive change

Readers of leadership books like The Practice of Adaptive LeadershipLeadership on the LineLeadership Without Easy Answers, or Immunity to Change won't want to miss the incredible leadership training in Your Leadership Moment.

Read more

The Tao of Influence

By

How to Become a Great Leader

People are yearning to make an impact and create much needed change. Building a business, starting a movement, generating a new initiative in the workplace, creating change within a family, or supporting a non-profit enterprise in the community? People want to be part of the solution. Author Karen McGregor believes the 4000-year-old “Four Pillars of Influence” of the Tao Te Ching may be the key.

A unique leadership skills book. The Tao of Influence stands apart as a business book. It speaks ancient wisdom to the modern-day leader, while providing practical and tangible actions that lead to high levels of sustainable influence and positive power. Discover an easy-to-follow roadmap to creating lasting change in your workplace, community, and family, while navigating chaotic and demanding environments.

The power of influence to create much needed change. As “old world” manipulation, hidden agendas, control and greed crumble, people are seeking replacements. The Tao of Influence fills the gap between old and new world influence through the teachings and applications of the 4000-year-old wisdom of Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu.

Positive vibes and how to influence others. Author Karen McGregor is an international keynote and TEDx speaker, and a guide to thousands of entrepreneurs and professionals seeking to become more influential leaders. In this book each chapter begins with a quote from the Tao Te Ching that connects with that chapter’s theme, then concludes with reflections and recommended actions. Learn to:

  • Handle challenges and difficult people
  • End the dynamic that heightens power struggles and destroys influence
  • Create stillness and space to generate authentic power

If you have read books such as WeconomyLeaders Eat Last, or Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth, you will want to read and learn from Karen McGregor’s The Tao of Influence.

Read more