Turtle Planet
Read an Excerpt
Release Date  
Pages   264
ISBN-13  978-1-64250-271-8
Categories  

Turtle Planet

Compassion, Conservation, and the Fate of the Natural World (For Readers of The Mad Monk Manifesto, The Hidden Life of Trees, or Dreaming in Turtle)

By Yun Rou

#1 New Release in Biology of Reptiles & Amphibians and in Taoism ─ Explore the Bond Between Humans and Animals

Be a part of it─2020 is Designated “Year of the Turtle” by Zoological and Conservation Organizations.

Turtle Planet is a work of philosophical fact and fiction by ordained Daoist Monk Yun Rou. This beautifully written work of thought deeply explores the bond between humans and animals―the wisdom they teach us, the wounds they can heal, and the role we play in their destruction.

A Daoist focus on personal cultivation, environmental conservation, and political and social justice. Daoist Monk Yun Rou received his academic education at Yale, Cornell, and the University of California and was ordained a Daoist monk at the Chun Yang (Pure Yang) Taoist Temple in Guangzhou, China. Drawing on fifty years of loving and husbanding turtles, from the car-sized giant Leatherback turtle to the Central Asian tortoise, Monk Yun Rou sounds the alarm of what climate change, global extinction, human intervention, and environmental devastation really mean to their worlds and to ours.

See the world through the eyes of turtles. Turtle Planet renders the wonders and suffering of the natural world through the eyes of eighteen exotic turtles. An informational glossary and description of each turtle at the end of the book is provided as a bonus gift to readers.

If you have read and learned from books such as H is for HawkThe Soul of an Octopus, or Ishmael; you will be moved by Turtle Planet, a must for any reader who loves nature, cherishes animals, and celebrates ideas.

Select format

$16.95

Updates and Events

You May Also Like

The Mad Monk Manifesto

By

Winner of Both Gold & Silver 2018 Nautilus Book Award and #1 New Release in Taoism and Tao Te Ching

Change Yourself, Change The World

Find answers. It’s easy to get outraged by world events, frustrated by our own personal battles, and disenfranchised from government and leadership. Born of moral indignation, informed by decades of study, and seasoned by a life of devoted self-cultivation, Monk Yun Rou’s Mad Monk Manifesto has answers, personal prescriptions, and calls to social and political action in one powerful book.

Change the world by changing ourselves. Based on ancient Chinese wisdom such as Lao Tzu’s Tao Te ChingMad Monk Manifesto is part tour guide to consciousness, part recipe for personal development, part prescription for environmental salvation, and part handbook for social change.

Wise advice for the awakened life. As ripples move away from a stone dropped into a pond, Mad Monk Manifesto begins with our personal lives, discussing diet, exercise, meditation, and mind/body practice. Then it expands to our public environment, describing what we can do to improve our community, government, and the world. Full of everything from advice for a healthy, conscious lifestyle to actions we can take to enhance the lives of friends, family, coworkers, and community members; Mad Monk Manifesto highlights spirituality and service. In addition, Monk Yun Rou encourages everyone to engage in the nature that surrounds them, showing how environmentalism can take place in daily life.

Mad Monk Manifesto is precisely what the world needs at a time of unprecedented environmental disasters, international instability, and divisive and unreliable leadership. After reading this book, you will learn:

  • How to relax, rectify, and rebalance life
  • How to bolster the community and deepen culture
  • How to effect positive change in commerce, government, power, and the environment

Mad Monk Manifesto is for readers of Alan Watts, Eckhart Tolle, and Change Your Thoughts—Change Your Life by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer.

Read more

Windy City

By

Celebrate Chicago and Exquisite Journaling

Nobody seems to know exactly why people started calling Chicago “The Windy City”. Maybe it was because of Chicago’s windy weather coming off of Lake Michigan or maybe it was a metaphorical jab at its supposedly boastful politicians. Whatever the origin the moniker stuck and now it’s a beautiful journal notebook.

A Windy City work of art. Whether you’re a lover of the "Windy City" or just can’t resist beautifully illustrated journals, you will enjoy having this vibrantly illustrated blank journal with Demask cover at your fingertips. Perfect for your purse, backpack, work bag, pocket, or desktop, this Anne Bentley designed work of art makes a great birthday gift, graduation gift, spontaneous gift−or gift to yourself.

Journaling in style. Well-constructed with lay flat binding, and high-quality cream lined paper, this delightfully illustrated journal is ideal for jotting thoughts, to-do lists, notes, or just personal musings.

If you are a fan of illustrated blank journals such as Lively Floral Stitched Lined Notebooks, the Botanicals Notebook Collection, or other Anne Bentley illustrated journals including Journal: Music TownJournal: Fog City, or Journal: The Big Easy; you will love Windy City: Journal Notebook.

Read more

Stumptown

By

Celebrate Portland, Oregon, and Exquisite Journaling

At least seven other U.S. municipalities have claimed the title “Stumptown”, but the name seems to have stuck with Portland, Oregon. As the Pacific Northwestern forest was rapidly cleared to make way for the city’s growth in the mid-19th century, tree stumps were pretty much left in place. In fact, there were so many, it is told that people took to jumping from one stump to another to avoid muddy unpaved roads. And, now Stumptown is also a beautiful journal notebook.

A Stumptown work of art. Whether you’re a lover of Stumptown or just can’t resist beautifully illustrated journals, you will enjoy having this vibrantly illustrated blank journal with Demask cover at your fingertips. Perfect for your purse, backpack, work bag, pocket, or desktop, this Anne Bentley designed work of art makes a great birthday gift, graduation gift, spontaneous gift−or gift to yourself.

Journaling in style. Well-constructed with lay flat binding, and high-quality cream lined paper, this delightfully illustrated journal is ideal for jotting thoughts, to-do lists, notes, or just personal musings.

If you are a fan of illustrated blank journals such as Lively Floral Stitched Lined Notebooks, the Botanicals Notebook Collection, or other Anne Bentley journals including Journal: Music TownJournal: Fog CityJournal: The Big Easy or Windy City: Journal Notebook; you will love Stumptown: Journal Notebook.

Read more

The Tao of Influence

By

How to Become a Great Leader

People are yearning to make an impact and create much needed change. Building a business, starting a movement, generating a new initiative in the workplace, creating change within a family, or supporting a non-profit enterprise in the community? People want to be part of the solution. Author Karen McGregor believes the 4000-year-old “Four Pillars of Influence” of the Tao Te Ching may be the key.

A unique leadership skills book. The Tao of Influence stands apart as a business book. It speaks ancient wisdom to the modern-day leader, while providing practical and tangible actions that lead to high levels of sustainable influence and positive power. Discover an easy-to-follow roadmap to creating lasting change in your workplace, community, and family, while navigating chaotic and demanding environments.

The power of influence to create much needed change. As “old world” manipulation, hidden agendas, control and greed crumble, people are seeking replacements. The Tao of Influence fills the gap between old and new world influence through the teachings and applications of the 4000-year-old wisdom of Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu.

Positive vibes and how to influence others. Author Karen McGregor is an international keynote and TEDx speaker, and a guide to thousands of entrepreneurs and professionals seeking to become more influential leaders. In this book each chapter begins with a quote from the Tao Te Ching that connects with that chapter’s theme, then concludes with reflections and recommended actions. Learn to:

  • Handle challenges and difficult people
  • End the dynamic that heightens power struggles and destroys influence
  • Create stillness and space to generate authentic power

If you have read books such as WeconomyLeaders Eat Last, or Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth, you will want to read and learn from Karen McGregor’s The Tao of Influence.

Read more

Cleanse Your Body, Reveal Your Soul

By

Discover A Life-Changing Detoxification and Rejuvenation Therapy

Psychiatrist Judith E. Pentz, MD, travels to Nagpur, India, to study 5000-year-old Ayurvedic Panchakarma detoxification and rejuvenation therapy in a quest to provide enhanced holistic wellness treatment for her patients.

A change at the cellular level. Part travel memoir and part spiritual guide, Cleanse Your Body and Reveal Your Soul is one woman’s transformative quest with Ayurvedic Panchakarma (a fivefold detoxification treatment involving massage, herbal therapy, and other procedures) and the profound shifts that led to some sustainable, substantial life changes. Dissatisfied with a mainstream psychiatric practice, Dr. Pentz heads to India, where she undergoes an ancient, rejuvenating cleanse.

The tools and practices of Panchakarma. Dr. Pentz’s narrative offers a compassionate and compelling path for Western audiences and the Ayurveda-curious. Complete with healing oils, Ayurvedic daily rituals, and yoga poses, she supplements her journey with tips about preventive lifestyle changes that promote sustainable well-being.

Inside, find definitions, quizzes and wisdom, as well as chapters like:

  • Cellular Shift: the science behind Panchakarma and cellular change
  • Food As Medicine: tips about one of the central tenets of Ayurveda, food is healing, and maintaining an Ayurvedic diet
  • The Dish on Doshas: facts that illuminate concepts around the three doshas—vata, pitta, kapha—your constitutional and functional intelligence

    If you have benefited from books like Ayurveda Beginner's GuideThe Ayurvedic Self-Care HandbookBody Thrive, or Ayurveda and Panchakarma, then Cleanse Your Body and Reveal Your Soul should be your next read.

Read more

Thera-pets

By

Make Every Day a Little Easier

Affirmations of self-love to brighten your day: Fans of Kate Allan and her colorful, inspirational illustrations will treasure this collection of daily affirmations of self-love. She draws from her own experiences with anxiety and depression to create therapeutic and soothing works of art for all. Think of this card deck as a menagerie of emotional support animals to take with you anywhere—an airplane, a trip to the dentist, your first day at a new job, or anytime you need a little boost of cheer and encouragement.

Give the gift of uplifting affirmations: Thera-pets is a deck of 64 cute doodles that comes from the bestselling author of You Can Do All Things. Each card of positive affirmations offers you a daily moment of joy to escape from the problems so many of us face in this hectic, modern world. Inside, you’ll find:

  • Cute animal drawings to calm your mind
  • Uplifting quotes to help you through bad days
  • Words of wisdom and ways to find mindfulness

Thera-pets: 64 Emotional Support Animal Cards is a great gift for anyone who loves How to Love Yourself Cards: A Deck of 64 Affirmations, and Affirmators! 50 Affirmation Cards to Help You Help Yourself—without the Self-Helpy-Ness.

Read more