The Tarleton Murders
Release Date  
Pages   248
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-649-4
Categories  

The Tarleton Murders

Sherlock Holmes in America (Mystery and Suspense Book, British Mysteries)

By Breck England

New Sherlock Holmes Historical Fiction Thriller

Find out the answers to many tantalizing Sherlock Holmes questions in a book that takes you into the dark place in the life of Holmes B.W. (Before Watson), or, as he said, “before my biographer came to glorify me.”

  • How did he know so much about the Ku Klux Klan?
  • How did he acquire such a rich acquaintance with America?
  • Did he really prevent a Second Civil War?

Historical fiction thriller. The Tarleton Murders, the record of “one of those pretty little problems” Holmes solved in the pre-Watson years, has never been brought to light until now. The discovery of this previously unknown manuscript opens a window onto the mysterious early years when Holmes was struggling to set himself up as a “consulting detective”—a previously unknown profession. “I have often wished that I had notes of those cases,” Watson said of Holmes’s early work, and so do we! But in The Tarleton Murders we have an account written by a Watson before there was a Watson.

The Early Sherlock Holmes. So begins a frantic journey that takes Holmes and his friend from Rome (where they save the Pope) to Paris to London to Liverpool, across the Atlantic during the most dangerous hurricane in twenty years, to the backwoods of Georgia (infested by the Klan), and eventually into the midst of Atlanta’s highest society—with growing awareness of a plot that threatens the very existence of the United States. What Holmes called in his usual understated fashion “a pretty little problem” turns out to be “a pretty big problem” indeed! Along the way we encounter George Bernard Shaw, Joel Chandler Harris, Pope Leo XIII, the artist Mary Cassatt, Moriarty himself—and Moriarty’s wife! And in the midst of the fun we make some astounding discoveries, such as the true identity of Moriarty, the fate of the Vatican Cameos, and to top it all off, Mycroft’s schoolboy nickname.

The Tarleton Murders: A corking good early Sherlock Holmes story that any mystery reader will love.

Select format

$18.95

You May Also Like

The Flaming Sword

By

A Heart-Pounding International Thriller With a Shocking Mystery

For fans of Angels and DemonsOriginThe Da Vinci Code, and other books by Dan Brown, Brad Thor or Daniel Silva, comes a religious and political mystery that will have you guessing until the very end.

An Incredible Weapon. In the beginning, the Lord sent mighty cherubim with a flaming sword to guard the holiest place on earth, the mount of Jerusalem, where the golden Dome of the Rock stands today. Now mysterious conspirators threaten to ignite a world war in the same place, with a “flaming sword” of a different kind.

The Epicenter of Monotheistic Faiths. Anciently, Solomon’s Temple stood on this spot, making it holy to the Jewish faith. According to the gospels, Christ was crucified near this spot, making it holy to Christians. Finally, the prophet Mohammed took his flight to heaven from this spot, making it holy to Muslims. A threat to this epicenter of three contesting faiths could shake apart the delicate balance of peace and bring down global ruin.

Secrets Upon Secrets. In this concluding volume of The Day of Atonement series, follow Israeli agent Ari and his companion, Interpol agent Maryse, as they race across multiple continents toward the mount of Jerusalem—and a shocking discovery that could mean the end of everything. 

The Flaming Sword is a fast-paced fiction that takes us right to the heart of Jerusalem. Can roiling religious wars end in time to save the world?

Read more

The Day of Atonement

By

#1 New Release in Middle Eastern Historical Fiction ─ A Heart-Pounding International Thriller with a Shocking Mystery

For fans of Dan Brown’s Inferno and the works of David Baldacci and Daniel Silva, comes a political thriller which will have you guessing until the end.

A race against time: Like an arch with an uncertain keystone, the world trembles around the holiest spot on Earth—the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. It’s a crisis of the near future, and the slightest vibration can bring down devastating world war.

A dangerous adventure in conspiracy and suspense: The tremors start with the Pope’s apparent suicide and the disappearance of the most sacred of artifacts. Thrown unwillingly together, Ari, an Israeli intelligence agent, and Maryse, an Interpol art expert plagued by a violent past, trace the dim outlines of a conspiracy that threatens to bring about the end of everything.

A secret society threatens to ignite war as an age-old mystery unravels: In the days to come, they chase across Europe an unknown enemy who can manipulate genetics, transform lead into gold, and ignite a nuclear explosion with a whisper. And what is the aim of the four enigmatic men who make up the oldest, most secret society in the world—to save it or destroy it? Follow Ari and Maryse as they race toward the golden Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem, where they must find the answers by a certain day—The Day of Atonement.

The Day of Atonement is an epic and electrifying thriller that will have readers shocked with its twists and entertained with each adrenaline-packed page.

Read more

The Deep Enders

By

With his home destroyed by the attack on Pearl Harbor, Murph Turner stumbles into the exotic town of Broome seeking refuge from the conflict engulfing the world. Instead, the troubled teen discovers a wild and lawless place brimming with espionage, romance, and treachery. Murph is taken under wing by Banjo—a cheeky Aboriginal scamp with a passion for pyrotechnics—and Micki, a beautiful teenager on the run from authorities. Even as Japanese warships close in the coastline, the trio is suddenly thrust into a murderous adventure—all set against the backdrop of a true WWII tragedy so brutal that it was immediately covered up by the government.
Read more

Uncomfortable Minds

By

“Uncomfortable minds” is Larry’s Sorkin’s riff on poet e.e. cummings ‘ words, “Cambridge ladies who...are unbeautiful and have comfortable mind” which refer to the conceit that uncomfortable minds are universal to all human beings. Larry Sorkin’s collection of poems—sometimes joyful, sometimes elegiac—explore the idea of the restless, uncomfortable state as either something we can run from, try to fix, or embrace. Each poem in the collection explores some disturbance in the psyche, with poetry as a way to confront the disturbance, use it, embrace it.

Read more

Across the Deep

By

A Survivor Story Featuring Strong Female Characters, an Undercover Cop, and the Hills of San Francisco

“After you read… ‘human trafficking’ will never be a concept for you again—but instead a personal affront to your very soul.” —Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Winner 2020 Indie Book Award for Most Inspirational Fiction

With the perfect mix of tragedy and humor, love and loss, pain and redemption, this riveting novel explores the lives of two spectacularly brave and resilient trafficked women living in a San Francisco safe house.

A contemporary survivor story. Raised in Thailand and brought to the United States against her will, quiet and intelligent Suda is hiding from a sex trafficking ring and the man she believed was on her side. Claire, admired as bright and beautiful in high school, now hides her striking looks and wears her sharp wit as a protective shield. Determined to show Suda and Claire a path that allows for a life of their own, Simone, the safe house operator, offers them a haven and a healing path to the future.

Part suspense, romance, and social novel. Moving between the hills of Thailand and San Francisco, this incredible novel traces the journey of two trafficked women pursuing healing and hope. With strong female  characters, an undercover cop, and a warmhearted Christian, Across the Deep is an unforgettable, alluring, suspenseful story  about the resilience of the human spirit, of lives stolen and enduring hope for the future.

If you enjoyed novels like Girl in Pieces, The Sea of Lost Girls, Please See Us, and Then She Was Gone, then you’ll love Across the Deep.

Read more

America's First Female Serial Killer

By

The Making of a Female Serial Killer

"In America's First Female Serial Killer, McBrayer offers us a complex―and terrifying―portrait of a killer who seemed almost doomed from birth." ―Kate Winkler Dawson, author of American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI

#1 Best Seller in History of Ireland and Child Psychology

For readers who are fascinated by how serial killers are made. This book is for listeners of true crime podcasts and readers of both fiction and true crime nonfiction. It is for watchers of television shows like Deadly Women and Mindhunter, who are fascinated by how killers are made. It’s for self-conscious feminists, Americans trying to bootstrap themselves into success, and anyone who loves a vigilante beatdown, especially one gone off the rails.

America’s first female serial killer was not always a killer. America’s First Female Serial Killer novelizes the true story of first-generation Irish-American nurse Jane Toppan, born as Honora Kelley. Although all the facts are intact, books about her life and her crimes are all facts and no story. Jane Toppan was absolutely a monster, but she did not start out that way.

Making of a serial killer. When Jane was a young child, her father abandoned her and her sister to the Boston Female Asylum. From there, Jane was indentured to a wealthy family who changed her name, never adopted her, wrote her out of the will, and essentially taught her how to hate herself. Jilted at the altar, Jane became a nurse and took control of her life, and the lives of her victims.

Readers of America’s First Female Serial Killer:

  • Will gain insight into the personal development of a severely damaged person without rationalizing her crimes
  • Experience the rarely told story of a female serial killer
  • Understand that even monsters were humans, first

If you enjoyed books such as In We Keep the Dead CloseMindhunter, or In Cold Blood; you will love reading America’s First Female Serial Killer.

Read more