The Boyfriend Book
Release Date  
Pages   256
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-846-7
Categories  

The Boyfriend Book

By Michael Reid, Michael E. Reid

An Empowering Book of Poems and Essays

Fans of Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty, Whiskey Words and a Shovel by r.h. Sin, and The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace will love The Boyfriend Book by Michael E. Reid.

No more boyfriends: 300 women sat down with Mike, and after three hours, 299 of them agreed that they never wanted a boyfriend again. The Boyfriend Book tells you why.

Modern love poems and philosophy: When entrusting her heart to somebody, a woman doesn’t want to worry about the bad and the ugly, such as disloyalty and disrespect, indifference and contempt, micro-aggression and outright violence. In a perfect world, every guy would be a “good guy,” and every guy would have her best interest at heart. Unfortunately, the real world is a dangerous place, particularly when women have to let strangers in. And while some women are decent judges of character, others don’t see the train coming until it hits them. Not only does this book serve as a cautionary tale, it also offers an important perspective on modern love and equips women with strategies to effectively change their love life and, most importantly, their inner lives.

Transform your life with this powerful poetry book: Before you open this book, ask yourself: Where am I now? What are my struggles? What sort of pain do I carry? What parts of myself have I lost? Then, figure out where you want to be. This book will get you there. The possibilities for rebirth and reinvention are endless – but it’s ultimately up to you to make it all happen. This book will help you find a way to go forward that does not involve sideways. Read it slow. Plant the seed. Let it grow.

The Boyfriend Book is a gripping collection of short stories, thoughts and poems from Just Mike The Poet.

20% Off Sitewide

Select format

$16.99 $13.59

You May Also Like

The Book of Extraordinary Femme Fatale Stories

By

A World of Sexy Sleuths, Mysterious Missus, and Female Villains

Flip through tales of beautiful women, female villains, and clever consorts. Delight in crime, mystery, and suspense in story after story featuring femme fatales.

A delightful menu of villainy and seduction. Dangerous women are a steadfast tradition of crime and mystery books. Choose between stories that compare to mystery best sellers, tales that feature the smart sleuth, the daring detective, the mystery date-turned-nemesis, or the baby-faced beauty. Perfect for fans of crime novels, fiction, strong female characters, or mystery and suspense books, The Extraordinary Book of Femme Fatales honors its heritage with stories featuring strong women and female villains who have mastered the art of seduction.

Marvelous mysteries, hand-picked by an expert. Maxim Jakubowski, one of the top best selling authors in mystery fiction books, has scoured the genre for the best new mystery and thriller stories featuring femme fatales. In The Extraordinary Book of Femme Fatales, he presents the best of the best in mystery literature featuring strong women, fiction, and good for her stories.

Inside The Extraordinary Book of Femme Fatales, you’ll find:

  • Stories with strong female leads, female villains, and more
  • Crime, seduction, and adventure
  • A look at what happens when women are the big bad heroes

If you liked The Maidens, The Jealousy Man and Other Stories, or The Best American Mystery and Suspense 2021, you’ll love The Extraordinary Book of Femme Fatales.

Read more

So This Is the End

By

How Would You Spend Your Last Few Hours on Earth?

Early readers called So This Is the End "a breath of fresh air,” "moving and beautiful," and something with which you’ll "fall in love the instant you start reading.”

#1 New Release in Science Fiction & Fantasy 

In Nora Hamilton’s world, doctors have found a cure for death, with just one caveat—it only lasts for 24 hours. This beautifully-written novel poses a thoughtful question: how would you spend your last 24 hours before death?

One more day. One more chance to tell family you love them, feel the grass beneath your feet, or finally speak your mind. So This Is The End follows Nora Hamilton as she navigates her last 24 hours before death, and she is determined to do something meaningful with her last moments. While looking for unique bucket list ideas, a friend suggests going on one last first date. What happens next is like a love story. Of course Nora would fall in love in her last 24 hours before death.

Enter: Renzo. Ren, for short. Their connection is immediate. Nora wants love, no lies. Should she tell Ren the truth about her condition—that she has less than 24 hours left before her second death? How will he react? Is it unethical to fall in love with someone if you only have one day left on earth? Or is love a gift, even when it's found on the final day a person has left? 

Inside So This Is The End, you’ll find:

  • A love novel about taking chances, making your own rules, and how love does prevail
  • How to treat all days like your final days—escape mundane living
  • A moving romantic drama about finding love in your last 24 hours before death

If you liked The Midnight Library, Me Before You, or The Light We Lost, you’ll love So This Is The End.


Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART

The Deep Enders

By

Teen and Young Adult Novel Based on Actual World War II Events

#1 New Release in Teen & Young Adult Boys & Men Fiction, Teen & Young Adult Military Historical Fiction, Action & Adventure, and Australia

“An action-packed adventure filled with wonderful characters, life, and color. The Deep Enders is a wild ride for readers!” ––Leah James, film producer

In the throes of the Pacific War, a troubled young man, Murph Turner, seeks solace in the Western Australia pearling town of Broome after his home was destroyed, but instead he finds true friendship, romance, adventure, and wartime treachery.

A teen and young adult novel filled with adventure, danger, and more! His home destroyed in The Pacific War, a troubled young man, Murph Turner, stumbles into the exotic pearling town of Broome hoping for safe harbor. Instead, he discovers a lawless place brimming with espionage, treachery, and murder. An outsider in a bewildering land of red dust and paranoia, Murph is quickly taken under wing by Banjo––a cheeky Aboriginal scamp with a passion for pyrotechnics––and Micki, a beautiful teenager on the run from authorities. But even as the Japanese armada closes in on the northern coastline, the trio is suddenly thrust into a murderous adventure––all set against the backdrop of a true wartime tragedy. Follow Murph as he navigates a war-torn world, and comes of age through, friendship, romance, and resilience. 

Enter the turmoil of war-torn Australia during WWII. The Deep Enders is based on actual events linked to Pearl Harbor, so shocking that the matter was immediately covered up by Allied governments and has remained largely unknown for 75 years.

If you liked Dark Fury by Evan Graver, The Coordinate by Marc Jacobs, or Seeking Safety by T.L Payne, your next read should be The Deep Enders by Dave Reardon.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART

Uncomfortable Minds

By

“Uncomfortable minds” is Larry’s Sorkin’s riff on poet e.e. cummings ‘ words, “Cambridge ladies who...are unbeautiful and have comfortable mind” which refer to the conceit that uncomfortable minds are universal to all human beings. Larry Sorkin’s collection of poems—sometimes joyful, sometimes elegiac—explore the idea of the restless, uncomfortable state as either something we can run from, try to fix, or embrace. Each poem in the collection explores some disturbance in the psyche, with poetry as a way to confront the disturbance, use it, embrace it.
Read more
$9.99 $7.99 ADD TO CART

Across the Deep

By

A Survivor Story Featuring Strong Female Characters, an Undercover Cop, and the Hills of San Francisco

“After you read… ‘human trafficking’ will never be a concept for you again—but instead a personal affront to your very soul.” —Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Winner 2020 Indie Book Award for Most Inspirational Fiction

With the perfect mix of tragedy and humor, love and loss, pain and redemption, this riveting novel explores the lives of two spectacularly brave and resilient trafficked women living in a San Francisco safe house.

A contemporary survivor story. Raised in Thailand and brought to the United States against her will, quiet and intelligent Suda is hiding from a sex trafficking ring and the man she believed was on her side. Claire, admired as bright and beautiful in high school, now hides her striking looks and wears her sharp wit as a protective shield. Determined to show Suda and Claire a path that allows for a life of their own, Simone, the safe house operator, offers them a haven and a healing path to the future.

Part suspense, romance, and social novel. Moving between the hills of Thailand and San Francisco, this incredible novel traces the journey of two trafficked women pursuing healing and hope. With strong female  characters, an undercover cop, and a warmhearted Christian, Across the Deep is an unforgettable, alluring, suspenseful story  about the resilience of the human spirit, of lives stolen and enduring hope for the future.

If you enjoyed novels like Girl in Pieces, The Sea of Lost Girls, Please See Us, and Then She Was Gone, then you’ll love Across the Deep.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART

America's First Female Serial Killer

By

The Making of a Female Serial Killer

"In America's First Female Serial Killer, McBrayer offers us a complex―and terrifying―portrait of a killer who seemed almost doomed from birth." ―Kate Winkler Dawson, author of American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI

#1 Best Seller in History of Ireland, Child Psychology, and Crime & Criminals

For readers who are fascinated by how serial killers are made. This book is for listeners of true crime podcasts and readers of both fiction and true crime nonfiction. It is for watchers of television shows like Deadly Women and Mindhunter, who are fascinated by how killers are made. It’s for self-conscious feminists, Americans trying to bootstrap themselves into success, and anyone who loves a vigilante beatdown, especially one gone off the rails.

America’s first female serial killer was not always a killer. America’s First Female Serial Killer novelizes the true story of first-generation Irish-American nurse Jane Toppan, born as Honora Kelley. Although all the facts are intact, books about her life and her crimes are all facts and no story. Jane Toppan was absolutely a monster, but she did not start out that way.

Making of a serial killer. When Jane was a young child, her father abandoned her and her sister to the Boston Female Asylum. From there, Jane was indentured to a wealthy family who changed her name, never adopted her, wrote her out of the will, and essentially taught her how to hate herself. Jilted at the altar, Jane became a nurse and took control of her life, and the lives of her victims.

Readers of America’s First Female Serial Killer:

  • Will gain insight into the personal development of a severely damaged person without rationalizing her crimes
  • Experience the rarely told story of a female serial killer
  • Understand that even monsters were humans, first

If you enjoyed books such as In We Keep the Dead CloseMindhunter, or In Cold Blood; you will love reading America’s First Female Serial Killer.

Read more
$18.95 $15.16 ADD TO CART