The Booklovers' Guide To Wine
Release Date  
Pages   394
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-606-7
Categories  

The Booklovers' Guide To Wine

A Celebration of the History, the Mysteries and the Literary Pleasures of Drinking Wine (Wine Book, Wine Guide, and for Fans of The Wine Bible or Sommelier Books)

By Patrick Alexander

#1 Best Seller in Wine & Spirits Buying Guides ─ Great Wines and Great Writers are a Wonderful Blend

A fact-filled, jargon free guide to wine, bursting with entertaining anecdotes, literary quotes and compelling humor that will teach you everything you always wanted to learn about wine but were too scared to ask.

Pure delight. "This book would be a highly recommendable primer on wine without the literary references as Alexander guides us through regions and grapes, plus how to truly appreciate this nectar. But the hefty chapter matching grapes with authors is pure delight: albariño and J.R.R. Tolkien, chardonnay and Jane Austen, and his personal favorite, gewürztraminer and Marcel Proust." - Minneapolis Star Tribune

The pleasures of great wine and great writers. Under the careful guidance of his father, Patrick Alexander began drinking wine with his meals at the age of five. At the same age, encouraged by his mother, he began a lifelong love-affair with books. The twin pleasures of wine and writing remained his passion for the next sixty-five years. He has raised his own children in many of the world’s great wine growing regions, from Bordeaux and Piedmont in Europe to the Santa Cruz mountains of California while researching and writing his definitive guide to the novels of Marcel Proust.

History of wine and some of the best wines. For the past six years, Patrick has been teaching a sold-out wine appreciation class at the nation’s No.1 independent bookstore, Books & Books in Coral Gables, Florida. The Booklovers' Guide to Wine is based on this very successful class and blends Patrick’s passion for the culture and history of wine and his love of literature for the world's great writers. A literary twist on traditional food and wine pairings, this book explores how great wines and great writers can be combined to enhance the enjoyment of both. The book describes the history of wine from the time of Noah to the birth of two-buck Chuck.

Select format

$19.95

Updates and Events

You May Also Like

The Tasty Adventures of Rose Honey by FlavCity: Chocolate Avocado Pudding

By

The Tasty Adventures of Rose Honey by Flav City

A Cookbook for Kids That Makes Healthy Recipes Fun!

The Flavcity duo, Dessi and Bobby Parrish, bestselling authors of Keto Meal Prep and Flavcity’s 5 Ingredient Meals, introduce TheTasty Adventures of Rose Honey!

Join Rose Honey as she prepares her favorite dessert. Follow Rose Honey as she makes chocolate pudding with a twist─avocado! In this adorable baking book for your little foodie, find illustrious imagery, Rose Honey’s cooking narrative, and feel-good ingredients to make the yummiest and healthiest chocolate avocado pudding imaginable!

Experience pudding like never before. With avocados, maple syrup and other natural and fun ingredients, you and your child can turn making an avocado pudding into a creative experience that all young chefs will rave about. Use this Flavcity recipe to create dishes your child adores, and make memories on the way!

In this kids’ cookbook, discover:

  • Alternate ingredients for pudding
  • Rose Honey’s adventurous approach to cooking
  • Baking techniques from Flavcity duo Dessi and Bobby Parrish themselves
  •  And so much more!

If you enjoyed cookbooks for kids like Yasmin the Chef, Cora Cooks Panic, or Stir Crack Whisk Bake, then you and your little one will love The Tasty Adventures of Honey Rose: Flavcity Awesome Chocolate Avocado Pudding!

Read more

The Tasty Adventures of Rose Honey by FlavCity: Chocolate Chip Cookies

By

A Kid’s Cookbook for the Kid Chefs in Your Life

The Flavcity duo, Dessi and Bobby Parrish and the best-selling authors of Keto Meal Prep and Flavcity’s 5 Ingredient Meals, introduce The Tasty Adventures of Rose Honey!

Join Rose Honey as she bakes her favorite snacks. Follow Rose Honey as she makes her favorite chocolate chip cookies with her parents. In this adorable baking book for your little foodie, find illustrious imagery, Rose Honey’s cooking narrative, and feel-good ingredients to make the yummiest and healthiest chocolate chip cookies imaginable!

Experience cookies like never before. With almond flour, nut butters, and other fun ingredients, you and your children can turn baking cookies into a creative experience that all junior chefs will rave about.  Use this Flavcity recipe book to create dishes your child adores, and make memories on the way!

In this children’s cookbook, learn about:

  • Alternate ingredients for cookies
  • Rose Honey’s adventurous approach to cooking
  • Baking techniques from Flavcity duo Dessi and Bobby Parrish themselves
  • And so much more!

If you enjoyed children’s cookbooks like Yasmin the Chef, Cora Cooks Panic, or Stir Crack Whisk Bake, then you and your little one will love The Tasty Adventures of Honey Rose: Flavcity Chocolate Chip Cookie Time!

Read more

Let Us Give Thanks

By

Practice Your Spirituality with a Daily Devotional

Saying grace with your family and friends before a meal is one of our loveliest time-honored traditions. Let Us Give Thanks offers 365 beautiful blessings for every day of the year. It is your essential prayerbook for giving thanks.

A daily devotional for every supper. From eighteenth-century Thanksgiving prayers to sincere expressions of thankfulness by Anne Lamott, Mark Nepo, Thich Nhat Hahn, Alice Walker, and more, Becca Anderson’s gathering of graces shows us the way to begin every meal with an open heart.

Inspirational meditations year-round. Whether you're accustomed to giving the blessing or fairly new to this sacred art, this bounty of blessings brings spirituality to your meals and special gatherings. The graces compiled here are used by people of all religious beliefs, and special attention is given to how easily the words can be spoken by both children and adults.

Rely on trusted guidance. Blogger and best-selling author Becca Anderson has practiced gratitude for decades. Coming from a long line of preachers and religious teachers from the midwest, Becca brings scholarship and deep understanding of practiced gratitude. Let Us Give Thanks is the fifth book in her prayer series, including a wide range of devotionals and inspirational writings from Maya Angelou, Rumi, Mark Nepo, Dave Eggars, Rupi Kaur, Mahatma Gandhi, Drew Barrymore, Alicia Keys, and more.

Let us Give Thanks offers:

  • Grace and a daily devotional for every family meal
  • Spiritual meditations from the Bible, Native American texts, and Buddhism
  • Inspiration from a variety of sources

If you enjoyed I Really Needed This Today, Live in Grace, Walk in Love, or I’ve Been Thinking . . ., you’ll love Let Us Give Thanks. Also, be sure to check out Becca Anderson’s Prayers for Calm, Prayers for Hard Times, and The Woman’s Book of Prayer, an Amazon #1 New Release in Prayer & Prayerbooks.

Read more

Baker Bettie’s Better Baking Book

By

Build Your Baking Confidence With Baker Bettie

Do you find baking difficult, or just not sure how it works? This cookbook is your new go-to baking resource.

Baking from scratch can be hard. It is a particular science that requires precise measurements and steps. With Kristin Hoffman, aka Baker Bettie, the science behind baking will become second nature! Baker Bettie’s Better Baking Book lays a foundation of basic baking skills and master recipes that are sure to boost your baking confidence.

Learn top tips from a professional chef. Consider Baker Bettie’s Better Baking Book your at-home culinary and baking school guide. This baking cookbook goes beyond the recipe by teaching the science behind baking. From measurements, techniques, step-by-step processes, to how to use base recipes to create endless baked goods that will make you drool. This book ensures that you will be able to tackle any baking recipe with confidence!

In this baking book, learn more about:

  • The science behind baking
  • Foundational baking techniques and mixing methods
  • How master formulas are used to bake a ton of delicious and easy recipes!

If you enjoyed books like The Baking Bible, Bake From Scratch, or Bigger, Bolder Baking, you’ll love Baker Bettie’s Better Baking Book!

Read more

52 Weeks, 52 Sweets

By

Easy Desserts to Bake for Every Week of the Year

Sweet recipes with gorgeous pictures for every season.

Baked treats for every season. An ode to seasonal baking, Vedika Luthra has crafted unique dessert recipes using seasonal ingredients and distinctive flavor combinations for throughout the year.

Desserts for Christmas and other holiday desserts. Whether you're looking for a stunning pumpkin spice cheesecake to welcome fall to your household, or a festive pavlova that serves as the grand finale to your Christmas party, this book provides you with a recipe repertoire fit for all occasions. These treats can serve as gifts for friends and family or an indulgent sweet treat for yourself.

Never run out of delicious recipes. Vedika invites you to explore desserts from her Indian heritage, her polish home base, and other dishes from around the world. Indulge in her unique 52 recipes, one for each week of the year, each accompanied by breath-taking photographs that will kick-start your sugar cravings and inspire you to create something special.

Uncomplicated baking. Is your favorite flavor chocolate, vanilla, or red velvet? Vedika has easy desserts to bake for you. She wants everyone to feel confident in their confectionary creations. Practice makes perfect and she guides you on your dessert journey whether it be lemon cakes, Bundt cakes, banana bread, or cookies.

If you loved baking with Zoë Bakes Cakes, The Great British Baking Show, or Small Batch Baking, then 52 Sweets, 52 Weeks should be your next sweet read.

Read more

So You Think You Know Baseball

By

The Ultimate Baseball Trivia Book

In this third title published by National Baseball Hall of Fame Books, test your knowledge of baseball trivia against the experts–the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The history of baseball is etched in its trivia. No American sport is chronicled through its trivia and statistics more than baseball. Now, the National Baseball Hall of Fame presents the ultimate baseball trivia book, So You Think You Know Baseball

Hit it out of the park at your MLB trivia night or in an after-dinner baseball quiz with your family. Selected by the historians and curators at the Baseball Hall of Fame, over 100 years of rich baseball history is packed into this virtual reference guide of facts, figures, and fascinating tidbits about our national pastime. 

In So You Think You Know Baseball, find 450 challenging baseball trivia questions organized into nine themed chapters covering a wide range of baseball history:

  • Baseball Firsts – famous firsts for almost every aspect of baseball history
  • First Year Phenoms – rookie sensations and first year wonders
  • Legendary Sluggers – Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Babe Ruth & more
  • Historic Hurlers – celebrated pitchers and their remarkable accomplishments on the mound
  • Record Breakers – notable players and teams who left their mark in the record books
  • Hall of Famers – baseball’s all-time greats enshrined in Cooperstown
  • Baseball in Pop Culture – discover the many ways baseball has influenced American culture
  • The Postseason – highlighting the celebrated moments in World Series history
  • Baseball Potpourri – unique facts about America’s Pastime

Also don’t miss two other titles published by National Baseball Hall of Fame Books, Picturing America’s Pastime and Memories from the Microphone.

Read more