The Booklovers' Guide To Wine
Release Date  
Pages   394
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-606-7
Categories  

The Booklovers' Guide To Wine

A Celebration of the History, the Mysteries and the Literary Pleasures of Drinking Wine (Wine Book, Wine Guide, and for Fans of The Wine Bible or Sommelier Books)

By Patrick Alexander

#1 Best Seller in Wine & Spirits Buying Guides ─ Great Wines and Great Writers are a Wonderful Blend

A fact-filled, jargon free guide to wine, bursting with entertaining anecdotes, literary quotes and compelling humor that will teach you everything you always wanted to learn about wine but were too scared to ask.

Pure delight. "This book would be a highly recommendable primer on wine without the literary references as Alexander guides us through regions and grapes, plus how to truly appreciate this nectar. But the hefty chapter matching grapes with authors is pure delight: albariño and J.R.R. Tolkien, chardonnay and Jane Austen, and his personal favorite, gewürztraminer and Marcel Proust." - Minneapolis Star Tribune

The pleasures of great wine and great writers. Under the careful guidance of his father, Patrick Alexander began drinking wine with his meals at the age of five. At the same age, encouraged by his mother, he began a lifelong love-affair with books. The twin pleasures of wine and writing remained his passion for the next sixty-five years. He has raised his own children in many of the world’s great wine growing regions, from Bordeaux and Piedmont in Europe to the Santa Cruz mountains of California while researching and writing his definitive guide to the novels of Marcel Proust.

History of wine and some of the best wines. For the past six years, Patrick has been teaching a sold-out wine appreciation class at the nation’s No.1 independent bookstore, Books & Books in Coral Gables, Florida. The Booklovers' Guide to Wine is based on this very successful class and blends Patrick’s passion for the culture and history of wine and his love of literature for the world's great writers. A literary twist on traditional food and wine pairings, this book explores how great wines and great writers can be combined to enhance the enjoyment of both. The book describes the history of wine from the time of Noah to the birth of two-buck Chuck.

Select format

$19.95

Updates and Events

You May Also Like

Stop Fear From Stopping You

By

Harness Your Fear

Two kinds of fear. Sometimes, emotions like fear can be helpful. A few years ago, Dr. Helen Odessky, clinical psychologist and author of the best-selling motivational book Stop Anxiety from Stopping You, found herself part of a minor fender-bender on a major interstate. Looking back at her daughter, she feared that if another car hit them, her daughter's life would be in danger. A few minutes after retreating to another car in a safer location, an 18-wheeler barrelled into her car and demolished it. Her fear saved both her daughter's life and her own.

Fight the bad fear. Stop Fear from Stopping You is about a different type of fear—the fear that is so prevalent that it often lies dormant in the way of our dreams, career paths and relationships. This fear creates stories that cushion us from potential pain and failure—at the cost of our self-esteem, success, growth, and personal happiness.

Become fear-wise. Because fear is complex, we cannot afford to merely be fearless. Just "letting go" is not the answer. The real solution lies in learning to become fear-wise. In this inspirational book, Dr. Helen will show you how to harness the wisdom behind your fears and break through the barriers that block your success.

Stop Fear from Stopping You is the perfect gift for women and men struggling with fear. It is designed to help you:

  • Identify the fears that stand between you and your goals
  • Develop tools to overcome your fears
  • Develop a value-based plan to pursue your goals
  • Change your relationship with fear and learn to become fear-wise

If self-help books for women and men like The Confidence GapDaring Greatly, or Fearless inspired you, then Stop Fear from Stopping You is a must-read.

Read more

A Little Book of Thank Yous

By

A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

Saying "thanks" has no downside. Write it, message it, shout it from the rooftops—it's good for the one who hears it and better for the one who says it.

Discover the power of words and the wonder of kindness. Express gratitude, receive abundance. Saying thanks can improve outlooks, open new vistas, and help us get along better with ourselves and others. Author Addie Johnson offers us gratitude thoughts to grab on the run or to sit with and ponder. She describes thank you messages and moments of soaring gratefulness and sets out to teach herself—and her readers—how to say thank you.

A Little Book of Thank Yous is a small book with a great big heart. We all have things to be grateful for. From Winston Churchill to Barack Obama, from Shakespeare to Virginia Woolf to Meister Eckhart, Johnson draws on people from all walks of life—all of them saying "Thank you."

In this book, discover:

  • Words of gratitude from historic figures and everyday people
  • Mini-meditations on being grateful
  • Thank you letter examples for almost any occasion

Readers of inspirational books like I Really Needed This TodayI’ve Been Thinking, or The World According to Mister Rogers will love A Little Book of Thank Yous.

Read more

Mother Nature is Not Trying to Kill You

By

Living With Mother Nature—and Other Things Learned in the Wild

Prepare for all the worst case scenarios mother earth throws at you with Mother Nature is Not Trying to Kill You—the only survival kit you need to overcome wildlife, natural disasters, and everything else outdoors.

Survive the unexpected. Statistically, you’re more likely to die from a vending machine than a shark. But, Rob Nelson knows many shark survivors. His college girlfriend was attacked by a crocodile and his roommate, a grizzly bear. His wife was sucked by a wave down a blowhole, he was left stranded at sea after a storm sank his sailboat, and the list goes on and on. To Rob, these “improbable” altercations are “random acts of nature,” and he’s learned how to survive them.

On knots, poisonous plants, and natural disasters. Featuring 52 challenges you can encounter in the wilderness, this survival guide is your year-long crash course for ultimate disaster management. Whether you’re preparing for a moose attack or a nuclear fallout, Mother Nature is Not Trying to Kill Youenables you to confront the natural world with skill and confidence. This wilderness survival guidebook also includes:

  • Pop culture examples like Jaws and The Revenant
  • Nature and science-packed stories and narratives
  • Diagrams, survival tips, and more!

If you enjoyed books like Bushcraft 101The Worst Case Scenario, or SAS Survival Handbook, then Mother Nature is Not Trying to Kill You is your next read!

Read more

Lettering From A to Z

By

Spark Your Creativity with Calligraphy

Lettering artist Phawnda Moore has been teaching calligraphy and design for 25 years. An award-winning author, she steps into beginning students’ shoes to select content, address anticipated questions, and offer solutions to the unexpected yet inevitable problems that are encountered in hand lettering.

“Lettering from A to Z . . .” stands out from the crowd! It was written for all levels of experience and nourishes creative thinking through mindful practice. Blending traditional design principles and modern tools, it will inspire you to find your own style.

Your creative life will be enriched with step-by-step tutorials “from A to Z.” Written in conversational narrative, this full-color book includes more than 200 images of Phawnda’s professional work, published articles, and guidance from her class demos to make beautiful projects.

Phawnda's practical, personable instruction includes:

  • 12 styles (Uncial calligraphy, Italic calligraphy, script calligraphy, brush lettering, faux calligraphy, rainbow lettering, monoline letters, handwriting and drawn letters)
  • Customized, printable practice sheets
  • Recommended writing tools, papers, sources, printing tips
  • How to troubleshoot
  • Layout, color and design basics
  • Mail art to keep correspondence alive
  • Lettering projects for mentoring youngsters
  • Real-life tips on how to organize your studio space
  • Tips on sharing your skills in teaching, business, events, home, garden and community
  • Making background papers from tea
  • Original gifts with the meaning of names for family and friends
  • Illustrating with calligraphy tools
  • Projects to make handmade birthday cards, holiday cards with pretty envelopes, journals of your life, and easy-to-design art books

If you enjoyed Hand Lettering 101The Lost Art of Handwriting, or Hand Lettering for Relaxation, then it’s time to grab a copy of Lettering from A to Z and reconnect to your natural creativity.

Read more

I Believe in Me

By

Self-Love and Self-Care the Soolooka Way

A collection of illustrations and comics to cheer you up when life has you down.

A little world of positive mental attitude. No one is all darkness or all light. But sometimes it can feel like we’re walking with a dark cloud over our heads. So, how can we find a spark of joy? Follow author Soolooka through 150 hopeful illustrations to help you overcome bad days and negative thoughts.

Cool cartoons that cheer you on. Featuring old and new comics from Reiki master and Instagram illustrator Cheng Chi Sing (a.k.a Soolooka), this short and sweet guidebook is here to help you find joy when you are feeling lonely or anxious. Self-help manuals are often overwhelming and intimidating for someone who just needs a boost during stress. This friendly companion will help you cheer up with quick tips and easy exercises that encourage positive thinking. Beloved Soolooka characters will help you:

  • Recognize the spectrum of your emotions, because it’s okay to not be okay
  • See a different perspective of the same situation, along with new solutions
  • Take that small, first step into a healthier frame of mind

If you enjoyed cute and funny cartoon characters in books like How to Be Happy (Or at Least Less Sad)You Can Do All Things, or Hyperbole and a Half, then I Believe In Me is the next comic you need to read.

Read more

Thera-pets

By

#1 Best Seller in Mental Health, Anxiety Disorders, Depression, and Phobias ― Make Every Day a Little Easier

Affirmations of self-love to brighten your day. Fans of Kate Allan and her colorful, inspirational illustrations will treasure this collection of daily affirmations of self-love. She draws from her own experiences with anxiety and depression to create therapeutic and soothing works of art for all. Think of this card deck as a menagerie of emotional support animals to take with you anywhere―an airplane, a trip to the dentist, your first day at a new job, or anytime you need a little boost of cheer and encouragement.

Give the gift of uplifting affirmations. Thera-pets is a deck of 64 cute doodles that comes from the bestselling author of You Can Do All Things. Each card of positive affirmations offers you a daily moment of joy to escape from the problems so many of us face in this hectic, modern world.

Inside, you’ll find:

  • Cute animal drawings to calm your mind
  • Uplifting quotes to help you through bad days
  • Words of wisdom and ways to find mindfulness

Thera-pets: 64 Emotional Support Animal Cards is a great gift for anyone who loves Kate Allan's You're Strong, Smart, and You Got This; or It’s Your Weirdness that Makes You Wonderful.

Read more