Greek Mythology Explained
Release Date  
Pages   352
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-896-2
Categories  

Greek Mythology Explained

A Deeper Look at Classical Greek Lore and Myth

By Marios Christou, David Ramenah

#1 Amazon New Release! ─ Greek mythology explored like never before

Fans of George R.R Martin’s A Song of Ice & Fire series and the Game of Thrones TV series will love Greek Mythology Explained, a unique retelling of Greek mythological tales featuring love, betrayal, murder and ruthless ambitions. 

A fascinating take on classical Greek stories: Discover six classic Greek myths in this exciting retelling that paints both famous and lesser well known characters in a whole new light. Follow the likes of Odysseus, Lamia, Bellerophon, Icarus, Medusa and Artemis as their fates are revealed through bloody trials, gut-wrenching betrayals, sinister motives and broken hearts. With an accessible writing style that delves into the thoughts, feelings, desires, and motivations of every character, these mythical figures and their compelling stories will resonate with readers as they are guided through perilous and tragic adventures.

A deeper understanding: Greek Mythology Explained provides an in-depth analysis of each story told as it unravels the greater themes and valuable lessons hidden within each chapter. Readers will gain a deeper insight into the character’s motives and the varying depictions of the original Greek myths.

Readers will:

  • Sail with Odysseus as he navigates through the straits of Messina with a terrifying monster on each side, intent only on killing him and his crew.
  • Witness Lamia’s world turned upside down as she loses her kingdom, her children and her humanity.
  • Journey with Bellerophon as he battles the Chimera and becomes the hero that he was destined to be.
  • Take flight with Icarus and Daedalus as they escape their confinement and the cretan navy.
  • Follow Medusa as she loses faith in the gods and becomes the monster she so adamantly wished to protect her people from.
  • Experience the love between Artemis and Orion, as well as the bitter jealousy it spawns at the core of her brother Apollo.

Select format

$19.99

You May Also Like

The Flaming Sword

By

IAn the beginning, the Lord sent mighty cherubim with a flaming sword to guard the holiest place on earth, the mount of Jerusalem, where the golden Dome of the Rock stands today. Now mysterious conspirators threaten to ignite world war in the same place with a “flaming sword” of a different kind. Anciently, Solomon’s Temple stood on this spot, making it holy to the Jewish faith. According to the gospels, Christ was crucified near this spot, making it holy to Christians. Finally, the prophet Mohammed took his flight to heaven from this spot, making it holy to Muslims. A threat to this epicenter of three contesting faiths could shake apart this delicate balance and bring down global ruin. In this concluding volume of The Day of Atonement series, follow Israeli agent Ari and his companion, Interpol agent Maryse, as they race across Europe toward the mount of Jerusalem and a shocking discovery that could mean the end of everything.
Read more

The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories

Your New Favorite Book of Mysteries

If you liked Raymond Chandler's volume of the Library of America series or works by P.D. James, you’ll love The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories

Some of the Best New Mysteries: The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories features outstanding new stories of crime, derring do, fast-paced adventures and puzzles set in the past, ranging widely over the centuries and offering a cornucopia of mysteries, dark deeds, investigations and a fascinating array of investigators both professional and amateur.

Never-Before-Seen Stories from Your Favorite Mystery Authors: Collected by one of the genre's eminent editors, Maxim Jakubowski, whose many anthologies like The Mammoth Book of the Adventures of Professor Moriarty have attracted attention and awards, The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories features never before seen stories by some of the most renowned American and British crime and thriller authors of today, and includes Linda Stratmann, Amy Myers, Lavie Tidhar, Jane Finnis, O'Neil de Noux, Ashley Lister, Eric Brown, Kate Ellis, A.K. Benedict and many others.

Read more

u&i

By

A Poetry Book of True Love

If you liked Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty and TreManda Pewett, 2Fish by Jhené Aiko, and Milk and Honey and The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur, you'll love Michael Hall's u & i

Playful Illustrations: u & i is a series of frank, funny and surprising typographic illustrations paired with brief text tells the story of attraction, marriage, family, frustration, antagonism, and ultimately, the deep appreciation for a lifelong partner.

A Picture of Real Love: The story begins with physical attraction that blossoms into a full-blown love affair. i imagines a marriage with u that includes world travel, children, and the joy of watching the children grow. But things don’t go as planned. The marriage faces financial problems, overwhelming responsibilities, and bitter arguments. Eventually, the couple overcomes their troubles and finds themselves in a much richer relationship than they had known before.

A Great Gift For Her or Him: u & i offers a comforting perspective on marriage. As a gift to your spouse on your anniversary or to newlyweds on their wedding day, u & i is a reassuring glimpse of the enduring spark of love.

Read more

The Boyfriend Book

By

An Empowering Book of Poems and Essays

Fans of Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, Her by Pierre Alex Jeanty, Whiskey Words and a Shovel by r.h. Sin, and The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace will love The Boyfriend Book by Michael E. Reid.

No more boyfriends: 300 women sat down with Mike, and after three hours, 299 of them agreed that they never wanted a boyfriend again. The Boyfriend Book tells you why.

Modern love poems and philosophy: When entrusting her heart to somebody, a woman doesn’t want to worry about the bad and the ugly, such as disloyalty and disrespect, indifference and contempt, micro-aggression and outright violence. In a perfect world, every guy would be a “good guy,” and every guy would have her best interest at heart. Unfortunately, the real world is a dangerous place, particularly when women have to let strangers in. And while some women are decent judges of character, others don’t see the train coming until it hits them. Not only does this book serve as a cautionary tale, it also offers an important perspective on modern love and equips women with strategies to effectively change their love life and, most importantly, their inner lives.

Transform your life with this powerful poetry book: Before you open this book, ask yourself: Where am I now? What are my struggles? What sort of pain do I carry? What parts of myself have I lost? Then, figure out where you want to be. This book will get you there. The possibilities for rebirth and reinvention are endless – but it’s ultimately up to you to make it all happen. This book will help you find a way to go forward that does not involve sideways. Read it slow. Plant the seed. Let it grow.

The Boyfriend Book is a gripping collection of short stories, thoughts and poems from Just Mike The Poet.

Read more

The Atlantropa Articles

By

#1 Amazon Best Seller! ─ Dystopian Alternate History: An ambitious feat of engineering and a continent in crisis

For fans of Philip K. Dick’s The Man in the High Castle and Stephen King’s 11/22/63, comes an epic saga by YouTuber Cody Franklin (Alternate History Hub), with contributions from YouTuber Joseph Pisenti (Real Life Lore).

In an alternate timeline, World War II never takes place. Instead, a plan is put into effect by Hitler and the Nazi party to drain the Mediterranean Sea. They promise fertile land, millions of jobs and endless energy. New land to be settled. Living space for a crowded continent. All of Europe came together and signed a treaty to realize this new world, it was called ‘The Atlantropa Articles’

Nazism Survives in A New Europe: by promising to bring endless energy through hydro-electricity and employing millions to build the dams, fascism only cements itself as a mainstream ideology. Hitler is seen as a modern Napoleon, one of the greats for his time. Nazism never disappears.

The Reich Remains Eternal: Two millennia later, the Reich run the world. Aryans have become a race of their own, out numbering their neighbors and ruling with a messianic passion towards Hitler. Europe has been united under the banner of the swastika.

The Sea Is Gone, the Promise Failed: But the plan of a fertile lush land was never realized. The project took decades longer than anticipated. By the time it is completed, what they find is a salty barren world. Now the Mediterranean Sea is a desert basin known only as the Kiln. Southern Europe has been abandoned. This is where Ansel’s story begins. A story of discovery, lies and false prophets. The Atlantropa Articles is an astounding science fiction, alternate history tale that will thrill and transport readers with its detailed world and startling intimacy.

Read more

So This Is the End

By

#1 Amazon New Release! — What happens when you find your soulmate, but you only have one day to live?

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You and Jill Santopolo’s The Light We Lost, comes a powerful romance

What if doctors could revive you from death—and give you an extra 24 hours of life?

One more day. One more chance to tell your family how much you love them. One more chance to say goodbye to friends, listen to your favorite song, throw an epic party, feel the grass beneath your feet, or watch the sunset. How would you spend your time?

So This Is The End follows Nora Hamilton as she navigates her final 24 hours. She’s determined to do something meaningful and make every moment count.

Enter: Renzo. Ren, for short. Strong, compassionate, unfairly attractive, with a face that makes Nora’s stomach explode into stars. Their connection is immediate, with white-hot intensity. Nora is wracked with bittersweet joy and confusion as she realizes, “I’ve finally met the love of my life… on the last day of my life.”

Should she tell Ren the truth about her condition—tell him she doesn’t have much time left? How will he react? Is it unethical to allow yourself to fall in love with someone when there’s no possibility of a future together? Or is love a precious gift, no matter how long it lasts, even if it’s just for one day?

What happens next is a story about taking chances, making your own rules, and the power of living like there’s no tomorrow.

A moving romantic drama: Early readers call So This Is The End "a breath of fresh air," "moving and beautiful," "an amazing wake-up call," a book you'll be "unable to put down," with a story that makes you "fall in love the instant you start reading."

Read more