Double Lives
Release Date  
Pages   256
ISBN-13  978-1-63353-780-4
Categories  

Double Lives

True Tales of the Criminals Next Door (A True Crime Book, Serial Killers, for Fans of Cold Case Files or If You Tell)

By Eric Brach

#1 New Release in True Crime and Espionage ─ Terrifying True Crime Stories

True Crime is hot right now, with true crime books, TV shows, and podcasts topping lists of readers, viewers, and listeners across the country. Eric Brach's new book Double Lives: True Tales of the Criminals Next Door offers terrifying true stories about the criminals hidden among us and the banality of evil and crime, elevated by its frank discussion of the nation-wide criminal scourge of the moment: opioid addiction.

Double Lives chronicles the very monsters who walk unnoticed among us ─ even serial killers like Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, or John Wayne Gacy. They are neighbors and students, professionals and friends living out criminal double lives. Double Lives is both a nonfiction exposé and a nationwide search that details the exploits of some of the worst criminals in recent American history, all of whom succeeded in going undetected for years while perpetrating one crime after another… and all in their own hometowns. Gender? Race? Age? Socioeconomic class? It doesn’t matter. All stripes of people from all walks of life are profiled in this true crime roller-coaster.

At the same time, the author provides a personal look at opioid addiction and its current effects right alongside these binge-worthy tales of two-faced criminals caught and incarcerated, making Double Lives a sensational yet sobering read.

If you're a fan of true crime and serial killer books such as Pretty Little Killers, Mind Hunter, or The Big Book of Serial Killers you'll love Double Lives.

Select format

$18.99

Updates and Events

You May Also Like

Let Me Count the Ways

By

On Women, Wisdom, and Ways to Love

Before Becca Anderson was a best-selling author, she was a bright-eyed bibliophile trying to define love. In Let Me Count the Ways, the beloved writer returns with specially curated quotes and snippets of poetry, affirmations, and love letters from her favorite women.

Different ways to say I love you. Author Hoda Kotb, I Really Needed This Today, meets Sex and the City’s Carrie Bradshaw in this empowering and inspirational book for women everywhere. In the much-loved style of Rupi Kaur one-liners, Let Me Count the Ways showcases the best quotes from women alongside gorgeous illustrations. From black authors like Nigerian Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie to American authors like Joyce Carol Oates, this collection of quotes follows women from France, Cuba, Lebanon, Bulgaria, Japan, and more. Packed full of different ways to say I love you, readers can finally step into the love lives of famous women and discover that their love stories aren’t so different from ours.

Quotes specially curated for her. If there’s one thing that unites all women (and people!), it’s love. Whether painful or passionate, love is a powerful force. But you don’t have to be Wonder Woman to survive heartbreak or embark on a romantic adventure—that’s why you have your tribe of women. By collecting reflections on every kind of love and all the ways to love, Anderson uses inspirational quotes to remind women one thing—we are not alone. In chapters like “What Is Love?,” “Self Love,” and “Love Is Love Is Love,” you’ll find quotes from:

  • Love letters by Empress Josephine, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, and Abigail Adams
  • Poetry by Miss Lauryn Hill, Lady Nakatomi, and Sandra Cisneros
  • Non-binary women like George Eliot, Sidonie Gabrielle Colette, and Audre Lorde

Perfect for Galentines or as a gift for girlfriend, readers of She Believed She Could and She DidThat's What She SaidBadass Affirmations, or What Would Jane Do will love Let Me Count the Ways.

Read more

The Very Secret Sex Lives of Medieval Women

By

What Was Sex Like for a Medieval Woman?

An inside look at sexual practices in medieval times. Were medieval women slaves to their husband's desires, jealously secured in a chastity belt in his absence? Was sex a duty or could it be a pleasure? Did a woman have a say about her own female sexuality, body, and who did or didn’t get up close and personal with it? No. And yes. It’s complicated.

Romance, courtship, and behind closed doors. The intimate lives of medieval women were as complex as for modern woman. They loved and lost, hoped and schemed, were lifted up and cast down. They were hopeful and lovelorn. Some had it forced upon them, others made aphrodisiacs and dressed for success. Some were chaste and some were lusty. Having sex was complicated. Not having sex, was even more so.

Inside The Very Secret Sex Lives of Medieval Women, a fascinating book about life during medieval times, you will discover tantalizing true stories about medieval women and a myriad of historical facts. Learn about:

  • The true experiences of women from all classes, including women who made history
  • The dos and don’ts in the bedroom
  • Sexy foods and how to have them
  • All you need to know for your wedding night, and well as insider medical advice
  • How to get pregnant (and how not to), and more

Fans of The Time Traveller’s Guide to Medieval EnglandMedieval Women and Terry Jonses’s Medieval Lives will meet real women and hear their voices in The Very Secret Sex Lives of Medieval Women.

Read more

Nothing Bad Between Us

By

An Incredible True Story About Family, Love and Forgiveness

After being publicly humiliated in front of her entire close-knit Mennonite community, Marlena Fiol didn't know how she would recover. Follow her journey from an abusive upbringing in Paraguay to escape, love, and loss in the United States and finally on to forgiveness and reconciliation.

Discover a story of healing and personal transformation. Marlena's childhood was full of contradictions. Her father was both a heroic doctor for people with leprosy and an abusive parent. Her Mennonite missionary community was both a devoted tribe and a controlling society. And Marlena longed to both be accepted in Paraguay and escape to somewhere new. In Nothing Bad Between Us, follow Marlena's journey as she takes control of her life and learns to be her authentic self, scars and imperfections included.

Uncover inner peace—and inner strength.  Nothing Bad Between Us is a story of brokenness and eventual redemption that taps into our collective yearning for healing and forgiveness. As you read Marlena's story, you will:

  • Learn how to forgive yourself and others without giving up your personal growth and self-confidence
  • Discover that transformation and redemption often exist even in the most broken parts of who you are
  • Find out how to stand in your power, knowing that vulnerability won't lead to your downfall, but to increasing courage, connection, and authenticity

Readers of memoirs about family, self-healing, and the strength of a woman like The Glass CastleLove Warrior, and Leaving the Witness will be captivated by Nothing Bad Between Us.

Read more

Glad to Be Human

By

Selling Points

  1. The Pushcart Prize-winning essay included in “Glad to Be Human” means an attention-getting gold seal on the front of the book.
  2. O’Garden’s voice is unique, ranging from the playful to the poetic to the profound. The book is beautifully written with heart and humor.
  3. The human race gets a lot of bad press. Glad to Be Human models gratitude and motivates people to appreciate their lives in a positive framework. It’s an inspirational book that is literary and spiritual without being religious.
  4. One interactive sales angle would be to encourage people to contribute their own reasons they are glad to be human to the website. The author has purchased the domain gladtobehuman.com. Though the site is not yet live, both a Privacy Policy and a Terms and Conditions page have been created for the website by an intellectual property lawyer.
Read more

America's First Female Serial Killer

By

The First Lady—Serial Killer The nurse from hell. Always cheerful, helpful, and sweet, nurse Jane Toppan was the last person you would suspect to administer a dose of death. When countless patients sought treatment for minor ailments and ended up dead, it was often thought accidental, due to the shortcomings of medicine in the late 1800s. But behind the jolly mask, there was a monster that was years in the making. From kind to killer. When Jane was a young child, her father abandoned her and her sister to the Boston Female Asylum. From there, she was never saw her sister again, was indentured to a wealthy family who changed her name, never adopted her, wrote her out of the will, and essentially taught her how to hate herself. Jilted at the altar, Jane became a nurse for hire and took control of her life—and the lives of her victims. Fact is stranger than fiction. If you have ever wondered how killers are made, this intimate account of “Jolly Jane,” America’s first female serial killer, will take you behind the curtains and into shadowy depths. This book is an imagined retelling of Jane Toppan—one of the deadliest poisoners of all time—and readers will get a fly-on-the-wall perspective that will leave them up at night.
Read more

The Burger King

By

The Life and Legacy of an American Original

Co-founder and first CEO of Burger King, Jim McLamore, recounts the entrepreneurial journey of an international fast food chain and offers a message to today's budding entrepreneur.

A rags-to-$9-billion-riches story. A crash course in Burger King history and fast food in America, The Burger King is McLamore’s candid and conversational memoir. Written before his death in 1996, he talks of his life, the birth of the whopper, and the rise of Burger King. Inside, find out:

  • How Burger King managed to create the worst advertising campaign of 1985
  • What Burger King shares with Pitbull, Scarface, and Marco Rubio
  • Why Wendy’s founder Dave Thomas called McLamore an “American original”

A message for today’s young entrepreneur. McLamore’s account of Burger King offers an instructive and inspiring tale to young entrepreneurs. Here’s a story of entrepreneurship development from one of the top entrepreneurs of fast food chains. Want to learn how to start a food business? Burger King’s journey from south Florida drive-ins to international corporation reveals the ups and downs of entrepreneurship, whether in the food service industry or elsewhere.

Now what? But the autobiography of McLamore doesn’t end when he exits the company. So, what comes after success? To McLamore, it comes down to what’s truly needed to live a full and good life—personal values, impacting the people around you, and juicy hamburgers.

If you want to have it your way, and enjoyed books like Grinding It Out: The Making of McDonald'sDave's Way: The Story of Wendy’s, and Papa: The Story of Papa John's Pizza, then you’ll love The Burger King: A Whopper of a Story on Life and Leadership.

Read more